Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?
 

Content

Almost every driver found it amusing when liquid suddenly started pouring from the exhaust pipe in front of a foreign car in front of him. The owner of an old car caused a special grin. Like, and new cars go bad.

In fact, not a single car is protected from the appearance of water in the resonator. Let's try to figure out why this happens. If this is scary, then how to fix the problem?

How water enters the silencer

Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?

The first question that needs to be clarified is where the water comes from in the pipe. There are several answers to it. And all of them will be correct. Here are the main causes of moisture in the exhaust:

 
  • combustion product of liquid fuels;
  • temperature difference;
  • external sources.

The natural process

The process of moisture formation during the burning of liquid fuel is a natural side effect of any internal combustion engine. The fact is that the composition of gasoline, or diesel fuel, in small quantities includes water. Otherwise, the fuel would have to be poured into the gas tank with a dustpan, like coal.

During combustion, the fuel changes its composition, but still partially remains in the form of a liquid. Therefore, during engine operation, the exhaust system of the car is replenished with an additional portion of moisture. In part, it manages to be removed from the system in the form of steam. However, when the engine is calm, everything that remains in the pipe remains in it. The cooled steam forms droplets that drain into the tanks.

Condensation

Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?

A common experiment from the first lessons of physics. A cold container is taken out of the refrigerator into a warm room. On its walls, regardless of the contents, small droplets form. And until the tank heats up to ambient temperature, the droplets will increase.

 
🚀More on the topic:
  History of the JAC car brand

Something similar can happen not only in winter, but also in summer. In physics, there is another concept explaining the appearance of water in a silencer. This is the dew point. Drops form on the surface that separates hot air from cold air. In the exhaust system of the machine, the temperature of the exhaust gas rises to several hundred degrees. And the colder the pipe, the higher the likelihood of abundant vaporization and condensation.

External sources

Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?

Water in the exhaust pipe may appear as a result of difficult weather conditions. Even ordinary fog contributes to this process. In winter, improper parking near a snowdrift can also cause liquid to form inside the exhaust pipe.

What threatens the water in the muffler

As you can see, the appearance of water in the exhaust pipe is a natural process. However, a large amount of it can harm the car. The most common problem (especially in domestic models) is the oxidation of the muffler. Even the highest quality stainless steel product will suffer from accumulated water. The fact is that the liquid in the pipe is not just water. It contains hazardous chemical elements. And some of them are part of sulfuric acid.

Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?

Of course, their number is negligible, but over time, constant contact with the aggressive environment will begin to destroy the cavity walls. Due to the holes formed, the car acquires a characteristic “hoarse bass”.

The second problem that the water in the silencer leads to is ice plugs. Although this is only a seasonal phenomenon, it can adversely affect engine performance.

Why and is it possible to drill a car silencer?

Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?

Often there is advice to drill a hole in the cavity. This method is popular among many amateur motorists. According to them, this procedure allows you to keep the muffler dry, regardless of weather conditions. For this, inventive motorists make a hole with a diameter of 2-3 millimeters. It is so insignificant that it does not affect the sound of the exhaust.

 
🚀More on the topic:
  BMW iX3 electric car with special wheels

What can be said about this method? Does it somehow affect the exhaust system, and is it possible to do without it?

Is the grandfather method useful?

So some owners of domestic cars fought with water. However, any violation of the protective layer of the metal inevitably leads to premature oxidation. Therefore, over time, a small hole will turn into a huge hole, which will need to be covered with patches.

Analogs installed on foreign cars will last a little longer in this case. But even the highest quality steel will deteriorate due to acidic impurities contained in the fluid accumulated in the tank. By drilling a hole in high-quality metal, the driver himself reduces the life of the exhaust system.

How to remove moisture from a muffler?

If water drips from the exhaust pipe during engine start-up, this is a clear sign that the system tank is filled with fuel residues. How to remove it from the muffler?

Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?

First of all, it is important to operate the car so as to minimize the formation of fluid. For example, in winter, the engine must be warmed up. This must be done at reduced speed. So the entire exhaust system will warm up smoothly. Then the car should work for at least forty minutes. Therefore, experts advise to exclude short trips in the winter.

During a long drive at high speeds, from increased temperature all the water in the exhaust system will turn into steam and will be removed by itself. This process is called muffler drying. Today it is the most effective way to remove fluid from the exhaust system.

In addition, we also offer a video on the condensate in the silencer:

Dripping Water from a Silencer - Should You Worry?

Common questions:

Why is water coming out of the exhaust pipe? The composition of gasoline and diesel fuel partly includes water (the fuel is in liquid form). When fuel is burned, this water evaporates, and in a cold exhaust system it condenses and remains in the muffler. When too much water accumulates, at the start of the movement, it begins to pour out of the pipe.

Do I need to drill a hole in the muffler? Not. This procedure significantly reduces the working life of the muffler. When the protective coating breaks down, the metal corrodes faster.

How to remove condensation from the exhaust pipe? The only way to remove water from the tailpipe is to heat up the exhaust system so that the water evaporates. To do this, you need the car to run at high speed for 40 minutes or more at least once a month.

SIMILAR ARTICLES
Main page » Articles » Water in the silencer: where is it from and is it normal?

Add a comment

Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?
 

Содержание

Почти каждый водитель находил забавным, когда на зеленом цвете светофора из выхлопной трубы впереди стоящей иномарки вдруг начинает литься жидкость. Особенную ухмылку такая ситуация вызывала у хозяина старенькой машины. Мол, и новые машины портятся.

На самом деле ни один автомобиль не защищен от появления воды в резонаторе. Попробуем разобраться, почему такое происходит. Если это страшно, то как исправить проблему?

Как вода попадает в глушитель

Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?

Первый вопрос, который необходимо выяснить – откуда в трубе берется вода. На него есть несколько ответов. И все они будут правильными. Вот основные причины образования влаги в выхлопной:

 
  • продукт сгорания жидких видов топлива;
  • разница температур;
  • внешние источники.

Естественный процесс

Процесс образования влаги во время горения жидкого топлива – естественный побочный эффект любого ДВС. Дело в том, что в состав бензина, или дизтоплива, в незначительных количествах входит и вода. Иначе горючее нужно было бы засыпать в бензобак совком, как уголь.

В процессе горения топливо меняет свой состав, но все равно частично остается в виде жидкости. Поэтому во время работы двигателя выхлопная система автомобиля пополняется дополнительной порцией влаги. Частично она успевает удаляться из системы в виде пара. Однако когда двигатель находится в спокойствии, все, что осталось в трубе, остается в ней. Остывший пар образует капли, которые стекают в резервуары.

Образование конденсата

Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?

Обычный эксперимент из первых уроков физики. Холодную емкость достают из холодильника в теплое помещение. На ее стенках, независимо от содержимого, образуются маленькие капельки. И пока емкость не нагреется до температуры окружающей среды, капли будут увеличиваться.

Нечто подобное может происходить не только зимой, но и летом. В физике есть еще одно понятие, объясняющее появление воды в глушителе. Это точка росы. Капли образуются на поверхности, отделяющей горячий воздух от холодного. В выхлопной системе машины температура отработанных газов повышается до нескольких сотен градусов. И чем холодней будет труба, тем выше вероятность обильного парообразования и выпадения конденсата.

Внешние источники

Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?

Вода в выхлопной трубе может появляться в результате сложных погодных условий. Даже обычный туман содействует этому процессу. В зимнее время неправильная парковка автомобиля возле сугроба тоже может быть причиной образования жидкости внутри выхлопной трубы.

Чем грозит вода в глушителе

Как видно, появление воды в выхлопной трубе – это естественный процесс. Однако большое ее количество может навредить машине. Самая распространенная проблема (особенно в моделях отечественного производителя) – окисление глушителя. Даже самая качественное изделие, изготовленное из нержавеющей стали, пострадает от скопившейся воды. Дело в том, что жидкость в трубе – это не просто вода. В ней содержатся опасные химические элементы. А некоторые из них входят в состав серной кислоты.

Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?

Конечно, их количество ничтожно, однако со временем постоянный контакт с агрессивной средой начнет разрушать стенки резонатора. Из-за образовавшихся отверстий автомобиль приобретает характерный «хриплый бас».

Вторая проблема, к которой приводит вода в глушителе – это ледяные пробки. Пусть это лишь сезонное явление, но оно может отрицательно сказаться на работе двигателя.

Зачем и можно ли сверлить глушитель автомобиля?

Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?

Часто встречается совет просверлить отверстие в резонаторе. Такой метод популярен среди многих автомобилистов-любителей. Как они считают, данная процедура позволяет сохранить глушитель сухим независимо от погодных условий. Для этого изобретательные автомобилисты делают отверстие диаметром в 2-3 миллиметра. Оно настолько ничтожно, что на звучании выхлопа никак не отражается.

Что можно сказать об этом методе? Влияет ли он как-то на выхлопную систему, и можно ли без него обойтись?

Полезен ли дедовский метод?

Так с водой боролись некоторые хозяева отечественных автомобилей. Однако любое нарушение защитного слоя металла неизбежно ведет к преждевременному окислению. Поэтому со временем небольшое отверстие превратится в огромную дыру, которую нужно будет заделывать латками.

Аналоги, устанавливаемые на иномарки, прослужат в данном случае немного дольше. Но даже самая качественная сталь будет портиться из-за кислотных примесей, содержащихся в жидкости, скопившейся в резервуаре. Просверлив отверстие в качественном металле, водитель сам сокращает срок службы выхлопной системы.

Как правильно удалить влагу из глушителя?

Если во время запуска двигателя из выхлопной трубы капает вода, это явный признак того, что резервуар системы наполнен остатками горения топлива. Как убрать ее из глушителя?

Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?

В первую очередь важно эксплуатировать автомобиль так, чтобы минимизировать образование жидкости. Например, зимой двигатель необходимо прогревать. Это необходимо делать на пониженных оборотах. Так вся выхлопная система плавно прогреется. Затем автомобиль должен работать как минимум на протяжении сорока минут. Поэтому специалисты советуют исключить короткие поездки зимой.

Во время длительной езды на высоких оборотах, от повышенной температуры вся вода в выхлопной системе превратится в пар и удалится сама. Этот процесс называется сушкой глушителя. На сегодняшний день это самый эффективный способ удаления жидкости из выхлопной системы.

В дополнение предлагаем также видео о конденсате в глушителе:

Капает Вода с Глушителя - Стоит Ли Беспокоиться?
ПОХОЖИЕ СТАТЬИ

ЧИТАЙТЕ ТАКЖЕ

Главная » Статьи » Вода в глушителе: откуда и нормально ли это?

Добавить комментарий