Manual Transmission

Content

Manual gearboxes are not as common in cars as they were before, but this does not prevent them from being in demand and relevant. This type of transmission is preferred by those drivers who like to control the process of shifting to higher or lower gears. For many motorists, the trip is not so interesting if the car is equipped with an automatic machine or tiptronic.

Manual transmissions are synonymous with reliability and are still in demand due to their maintainability and simplicity of the device. However, few people know what this device is, how it works. We offer you to get acquainted with the "mechanics" closer and understand the principle of the gearbox.
Manual gearbox photo

Principle of operation

A mechanical transmission is required to change the torque and transmit it from the engine to the wheels. The torque coming from the engine through the clutch pedal enters the input shaft of the box. Due to this, it is transformed by interconnected pairs of gears (steps) and transmitted directly to the wheels of the car.

All gear pairs have their own gear ratio, which is responsible for the number of revolutions and the supply of torque from the engine crankshaft to the wheels. An increase in transmission torque causes a decrease in crankshaft speed. With a decrease - on the contrary.
Before you change gears in a manual gearbox, you need to squeeze the clutch pedal, which interrupts the power flow from the engine. The beginning of the movement of a car always occurs from the 1st stage (except for freight vehicles), and the subsequent increase in transmission occurs gradually, with a successive change of the gearbox stages from low to high. The moment of switching itself is determined by the speed of the car and the indicators of the instruments: tachometer and speedometer.

The main elements of the unit

The main elements of a manual box include:

  • Clutch. This mechanism allows you to safely disconnect the input shaft of the box from the rotating crankshaft. It is mounted on the engine flywheel and consists of two discs located in one unit (clutch basket). When you press the clutch pedal, these discs are disconnected, and the rotation of the shaft of the box stops. This allows you to shift the transmission to the desired gear. When the pedal is released, the torque transmitted from the crankshaft to the flywheel goes to the clutch cover, then to the pressure plate and goes to the driven disk. The drive shaft of the box is inserted into the hub of the driven disk using a spline connection. Further, the rotation is transmitted to the gears, which are selected by the driver using the gear lever.
1 Warming up (1)
  • Shafts and gears. These elements are present in any gearbox. Their purpose is to transmit torque from the motor to differential, transfer box or cardan, as well as change the speed of rotation of the drive wheels. A set of gears provides a reliable grip of the shafts, so that the power efforts of the motor are transmitted to the drive wheels. One kind of gears is fixed on the shafts tightly (for example, a block of intermediate gears, which are made as a single piece with an intermediate shaft), the other is movable (for example, sliding, which are mounted on the secondary shaft). To reduce noise during gearbox operation, gears are made with bevel teeth.
2Shesterenki (1)
  • Synchronizers The structure of these parts provides equalization of the rotation speed of two independent shafts. After the rotation of the primary and secondary shafts is synchronized, the blocking clutch is connected to the gear gear using a spline connection. This mechanism eliminates shock when you turn on the speed, as well as premature wear of the gears connected.
3Synchronizatory (1)

The photo shows one of the options for a mechanical box in the context:

Cutting (1)

Types of manual gearboxes

Manual transmission device is of several types. Depending on the number of built-in shafts, there are:

  • twin-shaft (installed on passenger cars with front-wheel drive);
  • three-shaft (used for rear-wheel drive and freight vehicles).

By the number of steps (gears), gearboxes are 4, 5 and 6 speed.

Manual gearbox

The design of a manual transmission implies the following components:

  1. Carter, containing the main transmission parts.
  2. Shafts: primary, secondary, intermediate and optional (for reverse).
  3. Synchronizer. He is responsible for the lack of jerking and quiet running gearbox elements when switching gears.
  4. Gear shift mechanism including locking and locking components.
  5. Shift lever (located in the passenger compartment).

The scheme presented below will help to understand the structure of the manual transmission in more detail: Manual gearbox The number 1 indicates the location of the primary shaft, the number 2 indicates the lever for changing gears in the gearbox. The number 3 indicates the switching mechanism itself. 4, 5 and 6 - to the secondary shaft, drain plug and countershaft, respectively. And the number 7 indicates the crankcase.
It is worth considering that the transmission of a three-shaft and two-shaft type cardinally differ in structure and principle of operation.

Twin-shaft gearbox: device and principle of operation

In such a manual transmission, the torque comes from the internal combustion engine to the input shaft due to the existing clutch. The gears of the shaft, located in the same place as the synchronizers, constantly turn around the axis. Torque from the secondary shaft is transmitted through the main gear and the differential (responsible for the rotation of the wheels with different angular speeds) directly to the wheels of the car. Twin shaft gearbox The driven shaft has a securely mounted final drive gear. The gear change mechanism is located in the case of the box and includes forks and rods used to change the position of the synchronizer clutch. To reverse, use an additional shaft with a built-in intermediate gear.

Three-shaft gearbox: device and principle of operation

A manual transmission of a three-shaft type differs from the previous one by the presence of 3 working shafts. In addition to the drive and driven shafts, there is also an intermediate one. The primary is paired with a clutch and is responsible for transmitting torque to the intermediate shaft through the corresponding gear. Due to this design feature, all 3 shafts are in constant gearing. The position of the intermediate shaft relative to the primary is parallel (necessary to fix the gears in one position). The specific structure of the mechanical box implies the presence of two shafts on the 1st axis: secondary and primary. The gears of the driven shaft are able to spin freely, because they do not have a rigid fixation. The shift mechanism here is located on the hull of the gearbox. It is equipped with a control lever, stem and forks.

What are the faults

Often, a mechanical transmission breaks down when the driver shifts gears roughly. When transferring a transmission from one to another with sudden movements, failure cannot be avoided. This practice of using a gearbox will lead to a breakdown of the switching mechanism and synchronizers.

Advantages and disadvantages of gearbox

When it is possible to use mechanisms with different characteristics, motorists tend to compare their pros and cons. The mechanical box also has its advantages and disadvantages.

Mechanics (1)

The advantages include:

  • Less weight and cheaper compared to an automatic transmission;
  • allows the driver to control the interval between gear changes, increasing dynamics during acceleration;
  • with skillful use, a motorist can reduce fuel consumption;
  • high efficiency;
  • the design is simple, due to which the mechanism is highly reliable;
  • easier to repair and maintain than automatic counterparts;
  • when driving on the road it is easier to choose the appropriate mode, more sparing for the engine;
  • the skill of driving a car with a manual transmission is given more attention when training new drivers. In some countries, the rights of newcomers are marked "without the right to drive a car with manual transmission" if they handed over driving in a car with an automatic transmission. In the case of training in "mechanics" he is allowed to control different cars of the corresponding category;
  • You can tow a car. The car on the machine can also be towed, only in this case there are certain restrictions.
Mechanics1 (1)

The disadvantages of mechanics:

  • for lovers of comfort and those who are tired of the constant control of the current transmission, the best option is automatic transmission;
  • requires periodic replacement of the clutch;
  • for smooth switching requires a certain skill (automatic analog provides acceleration without jerks and dips).

Towing a car applies to both advantages and disadvantages. The lack of free towing cars - it is easier to steal. But if the car does not start due to a dead battery (they listened to music for a long time on a picnic), then it can be started by accelerating at neutral speed and engaging the gear. In this case, the torque goes in the opposite direction - from the wheels to the motor, simulating the operation of the starter. This is a plus mechanics.

Buksir (1)

With many “automatic machines” this will not work, because the clutch discs are pressed against each other due to the pressure of the oil pump running with the engine running. During the rotation of the wheels, the whole gearbox works in most models, so pushing the car is much more difficult than a vehicle on the "mechanics". Due to the lack of lubrication of gears, auto mechanics do not recommend towing cars with automatic gearboxes over long distances.

As you can see, a manual gearbox is an integral unit, without which the car will not go, no matter what the engine power. "Mechanics" allows you to choose the speed mode of the car yourself, squeezing the maximum power out of the motor. It is cheaper and simpler than automatic transmission, although it is much inferior to the “automatic” in comfort while driving.

SIMILAR ARTICLES

READ ALSO

Home » Articles » Mechanical gearbox

Add a comment

Устройство механических коробок передач
 

Содержание

Механические КПП не настолько распространены в автомобилях, как это было ранее, однако это не мешает им быть востребованными и актуальными. Такой тип трансмиссии предпочитают те водители, которые любят контролировать процесс перехода на повышенные или пониженные передачи. Для многих автомобилистов поездка не настолько интересна, если автомобиль оснащен автоматом или типтроником.

МКПП являются синонимом надежности и до сих пор пользуются спросом за счет своей ремонтопригодности и простоты устройства. Однако мало кто знает о том, что это за устройство, как оно работает. Предлагаем ознакомиться с «механикой» поближе и понять принцип работы коробки передач.
Устройство механических коробок передач

Принцип работы

Трансмиссия механического типа требуется для смены вращающего момента и его передачи от ДВС к колесам. Поступающий от двигателя крутящий момент с помощью педали сцепления поступает к первичному валу коробки. За счет этого он преобразуется связанными между собой парами шестерен (ступенями) и передается непосредственно на колеса автомобиля.

 

Все шестерные пары имеют свое передаточное число, отвечающее за количество оборотов и поступление крутящего момента от коленвала мотора на колеса. Увеличение крутящего момента передачей вызывает снижение оборотов коленчатого вала. При снижении – наоборот.
Перед тем, как сменить в механической КПП передачи, требуется выжимка педали сцепления, обеспечивающей прерывание потока мощности от ДВС. Начало движения авто всегда происходит с 1 ступени (кроме грузового автотранспорта), а последующее повышение передачи происходит постепенно, при последовательной смене ступеней КПП от низкой к высокой. Сам момент переключения определяется по скорости движения авто и показателям приборов: тахометра и спидометра.

Основные элементы агрегата

К основным элементам ручной коробки относятся:

  • Сцепление. Данный механизм позволяет безопасно отсоединить первичный вал коробки от вращающегося коленчатого вала. Он крепится на маховик двигателя и состоит из двух дисков, находящихся в одном блоке (корзина сцепления). При нажатии на педаль сцепления эти диски разъединяются, и вращение вала коробки прекращается. Это позволяет переключить трансмиссию на нужную передачу. Когда педаль отпускается, крутящий момент, передающийся от коленвала на маховик, идет на кожух сцепления, затем на нажимной диск и поступает на ведомый диск. В ступицу ведомого диска при помощи шлицевого соединения вставлен ведущий вал коробки. Далее вращение передается на шестерни, которые выбираются водителем при помощи рычага переключения скоростей.
Устройство механических коробок передач
  • Валы и шестерни. Эти элементы присутствуют в любой коробке передач. Их назначение – передавать крутящий момент от мотора на дифференциал, раздаточную коробку или на кардан, а также изменять скорость вращения ведущих колес. Набор шестерен обеспечивает надежное сцепление валов, благодаря чему мощностные усилия мотора передаются на ведущие колеса. Одна разновидность шестерен закрепляется на валах намертво (например, блок промежуточных шестерен, которые изготавливаются, как цельная деталь с промежуточным валом), другая  — подвижные (например, скользящие, которые устанавливаются на вторичный вал). Чтобы снизить шум во время работы коробки передач, шестерни изготавливаются с косыми зубьями.
Устройство механических коробок передач
  • Синхронизаторы. Строение этих деталей обеспечивает выравнивание скорости вращения двух независимых валов. После того, как вращение первичного и вторичного валов синхронизировано, блокировочная муфта соединяется с шестерней передачи при помощи шлицевого соединения. Такой механизм исключает удары при включении скорости, а также преждевременный износ подсоединяемых шестерен.
Устройство механических коробок передач

На фото показан один из вариантов механической коробки в разрезе:

 
Устройство механических коробок передач

Виды механических КПП

Устройство МКПП бывает нескольких видов. В зависимости от количества встроенных валов различают:

  • двухвальные (устанавливаются на легковые авто с передним приводом);
  • трехвальные (применяются для заднеприводного и грузового транспорта).

По количеству ступеней (передач), КПП бывают 4, 5 и 6 ступенчатыми.

Устройство механической коробки передач

Конструкция механической коробки передач подразумевает наличие следующих компонентов:

  1. Картера, содержащего в себе главные трансмиссионные детали.
  2. Валов: первичный, вторичный, промежуточный и дополнительный (для заднего хода).
  3. Синхронизатора. Он отвечает за отсутствие рывков и тихий ход элементов КПП при переключении ступеней.
  4. Механизма для переключения передач, включающего замковый и блокировочный компоненты.
  5. Рычага переключения (находится в салоне транспортного средства).

Детальнее разобраться со строением МКПП поможет представленная ниже схема: Устройство механических коробок передач Цифра 1 указывает на место размещения вала первичного назначения, цифра 2 – на рычаг для смены передачи в КПП. Цифра 3 указывает на сам переключающий механизм. 4, 5 и 6 – на вал вторичного назначения, сливную пробку и промежуточный вал, соответственно. А цифра 7 обозначает картер.
Стоит учесть, что трансмиссия трехвального и двухвального типа кардинально отличаются между собой по строению и принципу работы.

Двухвальная коробка передач: устройство и принцип работы

В такой МКПП вращающий момент поступает от ДВС на первичный вал благодаря имеющейся муфте сцепления. Шестерни вала, размещенные в том же месте, что и синхронизаторы, постоянно оборачиваются вокруг оси. Крутящий момент от вторичного вала передается через основную передачу и дифференциал (отвечает за вращение колес с разной угловой скоростью) непосредственно к колесам авто. Устройство механических коробок передач Ведомый вал имеет надежно закрепленную шестерню главной передачи. Механизм смены передачи размещен в корпусной части коробки и включает вилки и штоки, применяемые для изменения положения муфты синхронизаторов. Для включения заднего хода используется дополнительный вал со встроенной, промежуточной шестеренкой.

Трехвальная КПП: устройство и принцип работы

Механическая коробка передач трехвального типа отличается от предыдущей наличием 3-х рабочих валов. Кроме ведущего и ведомого валов, здесь есть и промежуточный. Первичный функционирует в паре со сцеплением и отвечает за передачу крутящего момента к промежуточному валу через соответствующую шестерню. Из-за такой конструктивной особенности все 3 вала пребывают в постоянном зацеплении. Положение промежуточного вала по отношению к первичному – параллельное (необходимо для фиксации шестерен в одном положении). Устройство механических коробок передач Специфика строения механической коробки подразумевает наличие на 1 оси двух валов: вторичного и первичного. Шестерни ведомого вала способны свободно крутиться, потому что не имеют жесткой фиксации. Механизм переключения здесь расположен на корпусной части КПП. Он оснащен рычагом управления, штоком и вилками.

 

Какие бывают неисправности

Зачастую, механическая трансмиссия ломается при грубом переключении водителем передач. При переводе передачи из одной в другую резкими движениями избежать поломки не удастся. Подобная практика использования КПП приведет к поломке механизма переключения и синхронизаторов.

Достоинства и недостатки КПП

Когда есть возможность использовать механизмы с разными характеристиками, автомобилисты склонны сравнивать их плюсы и минусы. У механической коробки тоже есть свои достоинства и недостатки.

Устройство механических коробок передач

К достоинствам относятся:

  • Меньше вес и дешевле стоит по сравнению с автоматической коробкой;
  • позволяет водителю контролировать интервал между переключениями скоростей, повышая динамику при разгоне;
  • при умелом использовании автомобилист может снизить расход топлива;
  • высокий КПД;
  • конструкция простая, благодаря чему механизм обладает высокой надежностью;
  • проще ремонтировать и обслуживать, чем автоматические аналоги;
  • при езде по бездорожью легче выбрать подходящий режим, более щадящий для двигателя;
  • навыку управления автомобилем с механической трансмиссией уделяется больше внимания при обучении новых водителей. В некоторых странах в правах новичков делается пометка «без права вождения авто с МКПП», если они сдавали вождение на машине с автоматической коробкой. В случае обучения на «механике» ему позволено управлять разными авто соответствующей категории;
  • можно буксировать автомобиль. Машину на автомате тоже можно буксировать, только в этом случае есть определенные ограничения.
Устройство механических коробок передач

Недостатки механики:

  • для любителей комфорта и тех, кого утомляет постоянный контроль текущей передачи, лучший вариант – АКПП;
  • требует периодической замены сцепления;
  • для плавного переключения требуется определенный навык (автоматический аналог обеспечивает разгон без рывков и провалов).

Буксировка автомобиля относится и к преимуществам, и к недостаткам. Недостаток свободной буксировки авто – его легче угнать. Но если машина не заводится из-за севшего аккумулятора (долго слушали музыку на пикнике), то ее можно завести, разогнав на нейтральной скорости и включив передачу. В этом случае крутящий момент идет в обратном направлении – от колес к мотору, имитируя работу стартера. Это плюс механики.

Устройство механических коробок передач

Со многими «автоматами» такого не получится, потому что диски сцепления прижимаются друг к другу за счет давления масляного насоса, работающего при заведенном моторе. Во время вращения колес в большинстве моделей работает и вся коробка, поэтому толкать машину гораздо трудней, чем ТС на «механике». Из-за отсутствия смазки шестерен автомеханики не рекомендуют буксировать авто с автоматическими коробками на большие расстояния.

Как видно, механическая коробка передач – неотъемлемый агрегат, без которого автомобиль не поедет, каким бы ни была мощность двигателя. «Механика» позволяет самому выбирать скоростной режим автомобиля, выжимая из мотора максимум мощности. Она дешевле и проще АКПП, хотя значительно уступает «автомату» в комфорте во время вождения.

Распространенные вопросы:

Что такое механическая коробка передач? МКПП – коробка передач, в которой выбор скорости полностью осуществляется водителем. При этом ключевую роль играет опыт автомобилиста и его понимание работы механизма переключения скоростей.

Из чего состоит коробка передач? МКПП состоит из корзины сцепления, которая соединяется с маховиком и первичным валом; промежуточного и вторичного валов с шестернями; механизма переключения и рычага переключения. Дополнительно установлен вал с шестерней задней передачи.

Где коробка передач в машине? В автомобиле МКПП стоит всегда возле мотора. Авто с задним приводом имеет продольное расположение коробки, а в переднеприводных – поперечное.

ПОХОЖИЕ СТАТЬИ
Главная » Статьи » Устройство механических коробок передач

Добавить комментарий