What is the operating temperature of the engine and why does it rise
 

Content

Maintaining the operating temperature of the motor is an important task of the cooling system. Mixing, fuel consumption, engine power and throttle response depend on the coolant temperature. Overheating of the engine promises serious problems, up to the failure of the entire unit. How to avoid this - learn further.

What should be the operating temperature of the engine

It is believed that the normal operating temperature of the internal combustion engine is from 87 ° to 105 °. For each engine, the operating temperature is determined by its own, at which it operates most stably. The power units of modern cars operate at a temperature of 100 ° -105 °. In the engine cylinders, when the working mixture is ignited, the combustion chamber heats up to 2500 degrees, and the task of the coolant is to maintain the optimum temperature value that does not go beyond the norms. 

What is the operating temperature of the engine and why does it rise

Causes of engine overheating

Overheating can be caused by many reasons, all of them are associated with a malfunction of the cooling system, or the quality of the coolant, as well as contamination of the cooling system jacket, which impairs the fluid's capacity. It is important to use quality spare parts, otherwise the following reasons will happen suddenly. Let's consider each of the reasons.

 

Low coolant level

The most common problem is the lack of coolant in the system. Coolant, in the form of antifreeze or antifreeze, constantly circulates through the system, removing heat from heated parts of the motor. If the coolant level is insufficient, the heat will not be sufficiently removed, which means that temperature increase will be inevitable. 

If it is not possible to add coolant, then turn on the stove to reduce the likelihood of overheating. In extreme cases, add regular or distilled water, after which the cooling system must be washed, then pour fresh antifreeze. At t ° above 90 degrees, you should immediately stop the car and turn off the ignition, allow the engine to cool. 

Failed electric cooling fan

The electric fan pumps cold air onto the radiator, which is especially necessary when driving at low speed, when there is not enough air flow. The fan can be installed both in front and behind the radiator. If the temperature arrow starts to rise, stop the car and check the fan for proper operation. Causes of fan failure:

 
  • motor failed
  • oxidized connector
  • fan relay burned out
  • The engine temperature sensor has failed.

To check the fan, remove the connectors from it, and “throw” the wires directly to the battery, which will determine the cause of the failure.

What is the operating temperature of the engine and why does it rise

Thermostat malfunction

The thermostat is one of the main elements of the cooling system. The cooling system has two circuits: small and large. A small circuit means that the fluid circulates only through the engine. In a large loop, fluid circulates throughout the system. The thermostat helps to quickly set and maintain the operating temperature. Thanks to the sensitive element, which opens the valve at 90 degrees, the liquid enters a large circle, and vice versa. The thermostat is considered faulty in two cases:

  • working t ° of a cooling liquid is not reached
  • the power unit tends to overheat.

The thermostat can be located directly in the cylinder block, in a separate housing, or as a unit with a temperature sensor and a pump.

 Cooling fan belt break

For vehicles with a longitudinally mounted engine, the fan can be driven by a drive belt from the crankshaft pulley. In this case, the fan runs forcibly. Resource drive belt from 30 to 120 thousand km. Usually, several nodes are driven by a single belt. When the belt breaks, the internal combustion engine instantly tends to overheat, especially when the speed is reduced. If you have a domestic car with a belt fan drive, it is recommended to install an additional electric fan in order to avoid unpleasant cases. 

Dirty radiator

What is the operating temperature of the engine and why does it rise

Once every 80-100 thousand kilometers it is required to flush the radiator along with the entire cooling system. The radiator is clogged for the following reasons:

  • untimely replacement of antifreeze
  • low-quality fluid
  • water application
  • the use of sealant for the cooling system.

To wash the radiator, you should use special compounds that are added to the old antifreeze, the motor runs on this “mixture” for 10-15 minutes, after which you need to remove water from the system. It is advisable to remove the radiator, rinse it with water under pressure inside and out.

 

Reasons for low engine temperature

Low engine temperature can be in the following cases:

  • inappropriate thermostat (opening temperature too early)
  • high performance cooling fans, or their forced operation from the moment the engine starts
  • thermostat malfunction
  • non-compliance with the proportion of mixing antifreeze with water.
What is the operating temperature of the engine and why does it rise

If you get antifreeze concentrate, then it must be diluted with distilled water. If in your region t ° decreased, up to a maximum of -30 °, then get antifreeze marked “-80” and dilute it 1: 1 with water. In this case, the resulting liquid will be heated and cooled in time, and also will not lose lubricating properties, which is extremely necessary for the pump. 

The main types of ICE cooling systems

  1. Liquid cooling. In the system, the fluid circulates due to the pressure created by the pump (water) pump. The operating temperature is low due to the control of the thermostat, sensors and fan.
  2. Air cooling. We are familiar with such a system from the Zaporozhets car. In the hind wings “ears” are used, through which the air flow enters the engine compartment and maintains normal engine t °. In many motorcycles, the motors are also cooled by air, due to the use of fins on the cylinder head and pallets that remove heat.
SIMILAR ARTICLES
Home Page » Articles » Tips for motorists » What is the operating temperature of the engine and why does it rise

2 comment

  1. Good evening,
    with complete respect and confidence to reread my case.
    I have a skoda octavia facelift vrs 2.0TDI, 170hp, CEGA motion code from 2011.
    For several months, more precisely since March 2020, I have a problem that I can't find a solution to.
    The car starts and runs flawlessly, but at some point the water sign lights up FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND and the message CHECK COOLANT MANUALS appears for a second.
    I changed the vessel from the new antifreeze from skoda, I changed the two temperature sensors G62 and G 83, I changed the distribution, I changed the oil and the antifreeze 3-4 times in 1000km.
    It doesn't matter that the antifreeze temperature is 90 times 50, it does this especially when I go more sporty.
    I diagnosed the car at skoda, nothing error 0 appears, I diagnosed while driving and found that the temperature is normal but exactly when it makes that signal the temperature rises for a second to 120 and returns immediately to 117 and returns immediate.
    in the filming it is seen that the needle on board from the water moves tries to get up but because it is short-lived this returns to 90.
    If you've ever encountered something like this, I need help.
    With great respect.

  2. Yes, I suffer this with a Peugeot 207…

Add a comment

Какая рабочая температура двигателя и почему она поднимается

Поддержание рабочей температуры мотора — важная задача системы охлаждения. От температуры охлаждающей жидкости зависит смесеобразование, расход топлива, мощность и приемистость мотора. Перегрев мотора сулит серьезные проблемы, вплоть до выхода из строя всего агрегата. Как этого избежать — узнаете далее.

Какой должна быть рабочая температура двигателя

Считается, что нормальная рабочая температура ДВС от 87° до 105°. Для каждого двигателя рабочая температура определяется своя, при которой он работает наиболее стабильно. Силовые агрегаты современных автомобилей работают при температуре 100°-105°. В цилиндрах двигателя, при воспламенении рабочей смеси, камера сгорания нагревается до 2500 градусов, и задача охлаждающей жидкости — поддерживать оптимальное значение температуры, не выходящей за пределы норм. 

Какая рабочая температура двигателя и почему она поднимается

Причины перегрева двигателя

Перегреву могут способствовать множество причин, все они связаны с неисправностью системы охлаждения, либо качеством охлаждающей жидкости, а также с загрязнением рубашки системы охлаждения, которая ухудшает пропускную способность жидкости. Немаловажно применять качественные запчасти, иначе нижеуказанные причины произойдут внезапно.  Рассмотрим каждую из причин.

 

Низкий уровень охлаждающей жидкости

Наиболее распространенная проблема — недостаток охлаждающей жидкости в системе. Охлаждающая жидкость, в виде тосола или антифриза, постоянно циркулирует по системе, отводя тепло от нагретых деталей мотора. При недостаточном уровне ОЖ тепло будет будет отводится недостаточно, а значит рост температуры будет неизбежен. 

Если нет возможности долить ОЖ, то включите печку, чтобы снизить вероятность перегрева. В крайнем случае долейте обычной или дистиллированной воды, после чего систему охлаждения нужно промыть, после залить свежий антифриз. При t° выше 90 градусов следует немедленно остановить автомобиль и выключить зажигание, дать мотору остыть. 

Отказал электрический вентилятор охлаждения

Электровентилятор нагнетает холодный воздух на радиатор, что особенно необходимо при движении на малой скорости, когда воздушного потока недостаточно. Вентилятор может устанавливаться как спереди, так и сзади радиатора. Если стрелка температуры начала подниматься — остановите авто и проверьте на исправность вентилятор. Причины отказа работы вентилятора:

 
  • вышел из строя электродвигатель
  • окислился разъем
  • реле вентилятора сгорело
  • вышел из строя датчик температуры ДВС.

Для проверки вентилятора снимите с него разъемы, и “подкиньте” провода напрямую к АКБ, что позволит определить причину отказа.

Какая рабочая температура двигателя и почему она поднимается

Неисправность термостата

Термостат — один из главных элементов системы охлаждения. В системе охлаждения есть два контура: малый и большой. Малый контур означает то, что жидкость циркулирует только по двигателю. В большом контуре жидкость циркулирует по всей системе. Термостат помогает скорее набрать и поддерживать рабочую температуру. Благодаря чувствительному элементу, который при 90 градусах открывает клапан, жидкость попадает в большой круг, и наоборот. Термостат считается неисправным в двух случаях:

  • рабочая t° охлаждающей жидкости не достигается
  • силовой агрегат стремится к перегреву.

Термостат может находится непосредственно в блоке цилиндров, в отдельном корпусе, или как одно целое с датчиком температуры и помпой.

 Обрыв ремня вентилятора охлаждения

У автомобилей с продольно расположенным двигателем, вентилятор может приводится в движение посредством приводного ремня от шкива коленчатого вала. В этом случае вентилятор работает принудительно. Ресурс приводного ремня от 30 до 120 тыс. км. Обычно одним ремнем приводится в движение несколько узлов. При обрыве ремня ДВС моментально стремится к перегреву, особенно при снижении скорости движения. Если у вас отечественный авто с ременным приводом вентилятора, рекомендуется установить дополнительно электровентилятор, во избежание неприятных случаев. 

Грязный радиатор

Какая рабочая температура двигателя и почему она поднимается

Раз в 80-100 тысяч километров требуется промывать радиатор вместе со всей системой охлаждения. Радиатор забивается по следующим причинам:

  • несвоевременная замена антифриза
  • применения некачественной жидкости
  • применение в системе воды
  • применение герметика системы охлаждения.

Для мойки радиатора следует использовать специальные составы, которые добавляются в старый антифриз, на этой “смеси” мотор работает в течении 10-15 минут, после нужно удалить воду из системы. Желательно снять радиатор, промыть его водой под давлением снаружи и внутри.

 

Причины низкой температуры двигателя

Заниженная температура двигателя может быть в следующих случаях:

  • применение несоответствующего термостата (температура открытия слишком ранняя)
  • высокая производительность вентиляторов охлаждения, или их принудительная работа с момента запуска двигателя
  • неисправность термостата
  • несоблюдение пропорции смешивания антифриза с водой.
Какая рабочая температура двигателя и почему она поднимается

Если вы приобретаете антифриз концентрат, то его обязательно нужно разбавлять с дистиллированной водой. Если в вашем регионе t° снижалась, максимум, чем до -30°, то приобретайте антифриз с пометкой “-80” и разбавляйте его 1:1 с водой. В этом случае, полученная жидкость будет вовремя нагреваться и охлаждаться, а также не потеряет смазочных свойств, что крайне необходимо для помпы. 

Основные типы систем охлаждения ДВС

  1. Жидкостное охлаждение. В системе жидкость циркулирует благодаря давлению, создаваемым помпой (водяным) насосом. Рабочая температура невысокая за счет контроля термостатом, датчиками и вентилятором.
  2. Воздушное охлаждение. Такая система нам знакома от автомобиля “Запорожец”. В задних крыльях применены “уши”, через которые воздушный поток попадает в подкапотное пространство и поддерживает t° ДВС в норме. Во многих мотоциклах также моторы охлаждаются воздухом, за счет применения ребер на ГБЦ и поддонах, которые отводят тепло.
ПОХОЖИЕ СТАТЬИ

ЧИТАЙТЕ ТАКЖЕ

Главная » Статьи » Советы автомобилистам » Какая рабочая температура двигателя и почему она поднимается

1 комментарий

  1. Buna sera,
    cu respect si cu incredere deplina sa reletez cazul meu.
    Am o skoda octavia facelift vrs 2.0TDI, de 170cp, cod motie CEGA din 2011.
    De cateva luni de zile mai precis din Martie 2020, am o probleme la care nu pot sa gasesc rezolvare.
    Masin porneste si merge impecabil, dar la un moment dat se aprine PENTRU O FRACTIUNE DE SECUNA semnul de la apa si apare pentru o secunda mesajul CHECK COOLANT MANUALS.
    Am schimbat vasul de la antigel nou de la skoda, am schimbat cei doi senzori de temperatura G62 si G 83, am schimbat distributia, am schimbat uleiul si antigelul de 3-4 pri in timp de 1000km.
    Nu conteaza ca temperatura la antigel este de 90 ori de 50, face acest lucru mai ales cand merg mai sport.
    Am facut diagnoza la masina la skoda, nu apare nimic eroare 0, am facut diagnoza in mers cu masina si a constatat ca temperatura este normala dar exact cand face acel semnal temperatura de ridica pentru o secuda la 120 si revine imediat iar la 117 si revine imediat.
    in filmare se vede ca si acul de la bord de la apa se misca incearca sa se ridice dar ptr ca este soarte scurt acest lucru revine la 90.
    Daca ati mai intalnit asa ceva am nevoie de ajutor.
    Cu mare respect.

Добавить комментарий