How the Soviet Union made a tire with a power reserve of 250 km

The technology, which arose from a shortage of rubber in the 50s, worked, albeit with reservations.

Currently, the average lifespan of a car tire before the tread wears out too much is around 40 kilometers. And that's a nice improvement over the early 000s when the tires barely lasted 80 km. But there are exceptions to the rule: In the Soviet Union, tires up to 32 000 km long were developed in the late 50s .. Here is their story.

How the Soviet Union made a tire with a power reserve of 250 km

RS tire of the Yaroslavl plant, preserved to this day.

In the late 50s, the number of cars on Soviet roads increased and the economy finally began to recover from the war. But it also leads to a serious thirst for rubber. Countries that are large producers of rubber are increasingly moving beyond the Iron Curtain (this is also one explanation for the continued interest of the Soviet Union in Vietnam over the next decade). The economic recovery is hindered by the constant acute shortage of tires for passenger cars and especially trucks.

How the Soviet Union made a tire with a power reserve of 250 km

In these conditions, the tire factories, for example, in Yaroslavl (Yarak), are faced with the task of looking for ways not only to increase production, but also to improve products. In 1959 a prototype was shown, and in 1960 the production of tires of the experimental RS series, created under the leadership of P. Sharkevich, began. It was not only radial - a great novelty for Soviet production at the time - but also with replaceable treads.

How the Soviet Union made a tire with a power reserve of 250 km

An article about the project in the magazine "Za Rulom" for 1963, which naturally begins with the phrase: "Every day the competition of the masses, inspired by the majestic program of building communism in our country, is expanding."

In practice, the outer surface of this tire is smooth and has three deep grooves. They are hoped for by three ring protectors - with a metal cord on the inside and with the usual pattern on the outside. Due to the harder mixture used, these protectors last longer - 70-90 thousand kilometers. And when they wear out, only they are replaced, and the rest of the tire remains in service. The savings on rubber are enormous. In addition, replaceable treads give trucks flexibility as they come in two types - off-road pattern and hard surface pattern. It's no secret that asphalt roads are not the dominant type in the USSR, so this option is very useful. Replacing itself is not too difficult - you simply bleed the air from the tire, remove the old tread, set up a new one and inflate it.

How the Soviet Union made a tire with a power reserve of 250 km

RS tires were mainly intended for the GAZ-51 truck - the basis of the Soviet economy at the time.

The plant produces over 50 sets of PC tires. In an enthusiastic article in 000, the magazine "Za Rulom" reported that when testing trucks on the route Moscow - Kharkov - Orel - Yaroslavl. tires served an average of 1963 km and some as much as 120 km.

Largest rubber manufacturers
1. Thailand - 4.31

2. Indonesia - 3.11

3. Vietnam - 0.95

4. India - 0.90

5. China - 0.86

6. Malaysia - 0.83

7. Philippines - 0.44

8. Guatemala - 0.36

9. Cote d'Ivoire - 0.29

10. Brazil - 0.18

* In million tons

The idea of ​​a replaceable tread is not new - similar experiments were carried out in Great Britain and France in the late XNUMXth century. And they are abandoned for the simple reason that the dynamic properties of the tire inevitably deteriorate. So it is with Yaroslavl RS - truck drivers are directly warned to stop smoothly and not to service overload at turns. In addition, the tire bead is often damaged by abrasion. However, the trade-off is worth it - it is better to drive slowly than to soak in the warehouse while the trucks are out of tires. And only after the supply of rubber from Vietnam was established, Sharkevich's project gradually faded into the background and was forgotten.

SIMILAR ARTICLES

READ ALSO

Home » Articles » How the Soviet Union made a tire with a power reserve of 250 km

Add a comment

Как в Советском Союзе сделали покрышку с запасом хода 250 000 км
 

Технология, возникшая из-за нехватки каучука в 50-х годах, работала, хотя и с оговорками.

В настоящее время средний срок службы автомобильной шины до того, как протектор изнашивается слишком сильно, составляет около 40 000 километров. И это неплохое улучшение по сравнению с началом 80-х, когда шины едва продержались 32 000 км. Но есть исключения из правил: В Советском Союзе шины длиной до 50 250 км были разработаны в конце 000-х годов.. Вот их история.

Как в Советском Союзе сделали покрышку с запасом хода 250 000 км

Шина РС Ярославского завода, сохранившаяся до наших дней.

 

В конце 50-х годов количество автомобилей на советских дорогах увеличилось, и экономика, наконец, начала восстанавливаться после войны. Но это также приводит к серьезной жажде резины. Страны, являющиеся крупными производителями каучука, все чаще выходят за пределы железного занавеса (это тоже одно из объяснений постоянного интереса Советского Союза к Вьетнаму в течение следующего десятилетия). Восстановлению экономики мешает постоянный острый дефицит шин для легковых автомобилей и особенно грузовых.

Как в Советском Союзе сделали покрышку с запасом хода 250 000 км

В этих условиях перед шинными заводами, например, в Ярославле (Ярак), стоит задача искать пути не только увеличения производства, но и улучшения продукции. В 1959 г. был показан опытный образец, а в 1960 г. началось производство шин опытной серии RS, созданных под руководством П. Шаркевича. Он был не только радиальным — отличная новинка для советского производства того времени — но также со сменными протекторами.

Как в Советском Союзе сделали покрышку с запасом хода 250 000 км

Статья о проекте в журнале «За рулом» за 1963 год, начинающаяся, естественно, фразой: «С каждым днем ​​соревнование масс, вдохновленное величественной программой построения коммунизма в нашей стране, расширяется».

На практике внешняя поверхность этой шины гладкая и с тремя глубокими канавками. На них надеются три кольцевых протектора — с металлическим шнуром внутри и с обычным рисунком снаружи. За счет использованной более жесткой смеси эти протекторы служат дольше — 70-90 тысяч километров. А когда они изнашиваются, заменяются только они, а остальная часть шины остается в эксплуатации. Экономия на резине огромна. Кроме того, сменные протекторы придают грузовикам гибкость, поскольку бывает двух видов — с рисунком для бездорожья и с рисунком для твердых поверхностей. Ни для кого не секрет, что асфальтовые дороги не являются доминирующим видом в СССР, поэтому такой вариант весьма кстати. Сама замена не слишком сложна — вы просто выпускаете воздух из шины, снимаете старый протектор, настраиваете новый и накачиваете его.

Как в Советском Союзе сделали покрышку с запасом хода 250 000 км

Шины RS в основном предназначались для грузовика ГАЗ-51 — основы советской экономики того времени.

Завод производит более 50 000 комплектов шин для ПК. В восторженной статье 1963 года журнал «За рулом» сообщил, что при испытаниях грузовиков по маршруту Москва — Харьков — Орел — Ярославль. шины прослужили в среднем 120 000 км, а некоторые — целых 256 000 км.

Крупнейшие производители резины
1. Таиланд — 4.31

2. Индонезия — 3.11

3. Вьетнам — 0.95

4. Индия — 0.90

5. Китай — 0.86

6. Малайзия — 0.83

7. Филиппины — 0.44

8. Гватемала — 0.36

9. Кот-д’Ивуар — 0.29

10. Бразилия — 0.18

* В млн. Тонна

Сама идея сменного протектора не нова — подобные эксперименты проводились в Великобритании и Франции в конце XIX века. И от них отказываются по той простой причине, что динамические свойства шины неизбежно ухудшаются. Так и с Ярославской РС — водителей грузовиков прямо предупреждают, чтобы они останавливались плавно и не обслуживали и перегрузка на поворотах. Кроме того, борт шины часто повреждается истиранием. Однако компромисс того стоит — лучше водить товар медленно, чем замачиваться на складе, пока грузовики без шин. И только после того, как были налажены поставки каучука из Вьетнама, проект Шаркевича постепенно отошел на второй план и был забыт.

ПОХОЖИЕ СТАТЬИ

ЧИТАЙТЕ ТАКЖЕ

Главная » Статьи » Как в Советском Союзе сделали покрышку с запасом хода 250 000 км

Добавить комментарий