What is silent block and when is it changed

Content

Silent blocks (hereinafter referred to as “s / b”) are a suspension part, which is two metal bushings with a rubber insert between them. The silentblock connects the suspension parts together, dampens vibrations between the nodes. The silent blocks contribute to a comfortable ride due to the elasticity of the rubber, which serves as a damper between the suspension parts.

What is silent block and its purpose

What is silent block and when is it changed

Silent blocks work to avoid deformation of suspension parts and bodywork. They are the first to take shocks and vibrations, after which they are damped by shock absorbers. Also silent blocks are divided into the following categories:

  • construction (with one, two bushings or without metal elements);
  • design load (solid elastic insert or with holes);
  • type of attachment (bushings or housing with lugs);
  • mobility (medium mobility and "floating");
  • material (rubber or polyurethane).

Structurally, silent blocks differ in shape, depending on the version of the lever. Most often, two bushings are used on the triangular levers of the MacPherson-type front suspension - the rear silent blocks with two bushings, the front ones with an inner one for a bolt, there is no outer cage. By the way, the rear s / b front suspension can be hydraulically filled. This design allows you to better absorb the vibration energy, but as soon as the liquid begins to flow out, the efficiency of the silent blocks decreases sharply.

According to the design load, it is better to use solid s / b, their resource is much higher.

On the mobility of special attention are "floating" silent blocks. They are used in the rear multi-link suspension, they can be pressed into the steering knuckle or the transverse rod. The “floating” hub has a second task - to allow the wheel to turn freely at a certain angle, while remaining stationary in the vertical and horizontal plane. The product is generally closed with a boot on both sides, inside of which a hinge is installed. Due to the movement of the hinge, the rear suspension “steers” when necessary, the car on the road is therefore more stable on sharp turns .. The main disadvantage of the “floating” bushing is that the rubber boot is too vulnerable to an aggressive environment, after which it allows dust and moisture to pass through, drastically reducing the resource of the part.

Where are the silent blocks located?

What is silent block and when is it changed

Rubber-metal bushings are used in the following suspension parts:

  • front and rear levers;
  • longitudinal and transverse rods of the rear suspension;
  • as stabilizer bushings;
  • in the steering knuckles;
  • in shock absorbers;
  • as a mount for the power unit and transmission;
  • on subframes.

The use of full-fledged silent blocks instead of rubber bushings has significantly improved the technical characteristics of the chassis due to the fact that the rubber in the rigid bushing works better for twisting, dampens vibrations more efficiently and does not wear out so quickly.

Types and types of silent blocks

There are two categories by which all silent blocks are classified:

  • By the material from which they are made;
  • By type (shape and design).

The bushings for the rear beam and front control arms are made of rubber or polyurethane.

By type they are distinguished:

  • Standard non-collapsible. Such parts have a metal cage with a rubber insert inside. There are also modifications with one metal insert. In this case, it will be placed inside the rubber base.
  • Perforated silent block or with cavities in the rubber part. Such silent blocks provide smooth twisting of the lever. The part must be pressed in evenly so that the load is distributed over the entire working part of the element.
  • Silent block with asymmetric lugs. Such parts do not have a through mounting hole. Instead, lugs are used. This design allows you to fix parts that are in offset planes relative to each other.
  • Floating design. Externally, floating silent blocks are similar to ball bearings. So that the rubber part does not wear out during operation, it is covered with a rubber boot. This modification provides a smooth movement of the part mounted on it. They can be used for levers, but more often they are installed in the steering knuckle of the hub.

How to check silent blocks?

What is silent block and when is it changed

The average resource of rubber-metal suspension parts is 100 km. S / w diagnostics are carried out every 000 km. To do this, you need to lift the car on a lift. Initial visual examination, it is required to identify the presence of cracks or ruptures in the rubber. If there are cracks, then this is a sign that the s / b will need to be replaced soon.

Further, the check is carried out using a mount. Leaning against the lever, we imitate its work, while the stroke of the lever should be tight. This also applies to engine mountings, shock absorber bushings.

On the go, a strong knock on irregularities, "laxity" of the suspension speaks about the wear of the silent blocks.

When change

Replacement of silent blocks is made only with obvious wear, in other cases it makes no sense to touch them. It is strongly recommended to change the rubber-metal part on both sides, because on the go, the suspension begins to manifest itself inadequately due to the difference in the operation of the levers.

By the way, not every suspension starts to "sound" when the s / w is worn. For example: car Mercedes-Benz W210 и BMW The 7-series E38 maintains “silence” to the last, even when the silent blocks are completely torn. This suggests that running gear diagnostics should be based on mileage and the first signs of inadequate suspension behavior.

Lifetime

Typically, the resource of original components reaches 100 km or more, depending on where the car is operated. Speaking of analogues, the cheapest options may fail already at the second thousand kilometers. The normal mileage of a good analog is 000-50% of the resource of the original spare part.

What is silent block and when is it changed

Which silent blocks are better: polyurethane or rubber?

Unambiguously, if the silentblock fails, a reasonable solution would be to replace it with an identical one, which was provided by the manufacturer. If the driver is unfamiliar with the device of his car, then the selection of silent blocks can be carried out according to the catalog for a specific car.

Before replacing the silent blocks, the car owner should decide on the material from which the part is made.

In the modern auto parts market, the buyer is offered two options: rubber and polyurethane analogues. Here's the difference.

Rubber silent blocks

What is silent block and when is it changed

At the heart of such silent blocks, rubber is used. These parts are cheap and easier to find in stores. But this option has several significant disadvantages:

  • Small working resource;
  • Creak, even after replacement;
  • They do not tolerate aggressive environmental influences, for example, rubber cracks under loads in severe frost.

Polyurethane silent blocks

What is silent block and when is it changed

The most significant drawback of polyurethane silent blocks in comparison with the previous version is the high cost. However, this factor is overridden by the presence of many advantages:

  • Silent work;
  • The car's behavior on the road becomes softer;
  • The fulcrum is not excessively deformed;
  • Increased working life (sometimes up to 5 times, when compared with a rubber analogue);
  • It dampens vibrations better;
  • Improves vehicle handling.

Reasons for failure and what breaks down in the silent block

Basically, the resource of any car part is affected not only by its quality, but also by the operating conditions. It so happens that a high-quality silent block does not deplete its resource in a car that constantly drives on a bumpy road.

What is silent block and when is it changed

In another case, the car is used mostly in the city, and the driver drives accurately and measuredly. In such situations, even a budget silent block can waste a decent resource.

The main breakdown of silent blocks is rupture or deformation of the rubber part, because it is a damper for the fulcrum. Twisting forces act on it at some nodes. The breakage of the metal clip is very rare. The main reason for this is a violation of the pressing procedure.

The rubber part wears out prematurely in the following cases:

  • Violation of the technology for replacing silent blocks. When the mounting bolts are tightened, the vehicle should be firmly on its wheels and not jacked up. Otherwise, an incorrectly tightened part will twist after the machine is lowered to the ground. Subsequently, the rubber will break under additional load.
  • Violation of the pressing process. If the part is installed with an offset, the load will not be evenly distributed during operation.
  • Natural wear and tear. Some drivers pay attention to silent blocks only when there is a problem with them, often exceeding the recommended service life.
  • Aggressive exposure to chemicals. This reason includes reagents with which the road is strewn. Ordinary engine oil also breaks down rubber with ease.
What is silent block and when is it changed

Here are the signs by which you can determine that the silent blocks need to be replaced:

  • The car drove almost 100 kilometers (if the road conditions were of poor quality, then the replacement interval decreases - after about 000-50 thousand);
  • Backlash appears, the car becomes unstable and less comfortable to drive;
  • The tread pattern of the tires wears out unevenly (it should be borne in mind that this may be the result of other malfunctions, which are described in separate article);
  • Lever mountings are damaged.

Carrying out timely and high-quality maintenance of the car, the owner of the car will avoid unnecessary waste on the repair of parts that have not yet arrived.

SIMILAR ARTICLES

READ ALSO

Home » Articles » What is the silent block and when it is changed

Add a comment

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Сайлентблоки (далее “с/б”) — это деталь подвески, представляющая собой две металлические втулки, между которыми расположена резиновая вставка. Сайлентблок соединяет между собой детали подвески, гасит колебания между узлами. Сайлентблоки способствуют комфортной езде за счет упругости резины, которая служит демпфером между деталями подвески. 

Что такое сайлентблок и его назначение

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Сайлентблоки работают на избежание деформации  деталей подвесок и кузова. Они первые принимают удары и колебания, после чего их гасят амортизаторы. Также сайлентблоки делятся на следующие категории:

  • конструкция (с одной, двумя втулками или без металлических элементов);
  • расчетная нагрузка (сплошная эластичная вставка или с отверстиями);
  • тип крепления (втулки или корпус с проушинами);
  • подвижность (средней подвижности и “плавающий”);
  • материал (резина или полиуретан).

Конструктивно сайлентблоки отличаются между собой по форме, в зависимости от исполнения рычага. Чаще всего на треугольных рычагах передней подвески типа МакФерсон применяют две втулки —  задние сайлентблоки с двумя втулками, передние с внутренней под болт, наружная обойма отсутствует. Кстати, задние с/б передней подвески могут быть гидронаполенными. Такая конструкция позволяет лучше поглощать энергию колебания, но как только жидкость начнет вытекать — эффективность сайлентблоков резко снижается.

 

По расчетной нагрузке лучше применять сплошные с/б, их ресурс значительно выше.

По подвижности отдельного внимания стоят “плавающие” сайлентблоки. Они применяются в задней многорычажной подвеске, могут выпрессовывается в поворотный кулак или поперечную штангу. У “плавающей” втулки есть вторая задача — дать колесу свободно поворачиваться на определенный угол, при этом оставаясь неподвижным в вертикальной и горизонтальной плоскости. Изделие представляет собой обйому, с двух сторону закрытую пыльником, внутри которой установлен шарнир.За счет движения шарнира задняя подвеска “подруливает” когда нужно, автомобиль на дороге за счет этого более устойчивой на крутых поворотах.. Главным недостатком “плавающей” втулки является то, что резиновый пыльник слишком уязвим к агрессивной среде, после пропускает пыль и влагу, резко снижая ресурс детали. 

Где располагаются сайлентблоки?

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Резино-металлические втулки применяются в следующих деталях подвески:

 
  • передние и задние рычаги;
  • продольные и поперечные тяги задней подвески;
  • в качестве втулок стабилизатора;
  • в поворотных кулаках;
  • в амортизаторах;
  • в качестве крепления силового агрегата и трансмиссии;
  • на подрамниках.

Использование полноценных сайлентблоков вместо резиновых втулок значительно улучшило технические характеристики ходовой части за счет того, что резина в жесткой втулке лучше работает на скручивание, эффективнее гасит колебания и не так быстро изнашивается. 

Виды и типы сайлентблоков

Существует две категории, по которым классифицируются все сайлентблоки:

  • По материалу, из которого они изготавливаются;
  • По типу (форма и конструкция).

Сайлентблоки задней балки и передних рычагов изготавливаются из резины или полиуретана.

По типу различают:

  • Стандартный неразборный. Такие детали имеют металлическую обойму с резиновой вставкой внутри. Существуют также модификации с одной металлической вставкой. В этом случае она будет помещена внутри резиновой основы.
  • Перфорированный сайлентблок или с полостями в резиновой части. Такие сайлентблоки обеспечивают плавное скручивание рычага. Запрессовка детали должна производиться равномерно, чтобы нагрузка распределялась по всей рабочей части элемента.
  • Сайлентблок с ассиметричными проушинами. В таких деталях нет сквозного крепежного отверстия. Вместо него используются проушины. Такая конструкция позволяет фиксировать детали, находящиеся в смещенных плоскостях относительно друг друга.
  • Плавающая конструкция. Внешне плавающие сайлентблоки похожи на шаровые опоры. Чтобы в процессе эксплуатации резиновая часть не изнашивалась, она прикрыта пыльником из резины. Такая модификация обеспечивает плавное движение установленной на ней детали. Могут использоваться для рычагов, но чаще их устанавливают в поворотных кулаках ступицы.

Как проверить сайлентблоки?

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Средний ресурс резино-металлических деталей подвески — 100 000 км. Диагностика с/б проводится каждые 50 000 км. Для этого потребуется поднять автомобиль на подъемнике. Первичный осмотр зрительный, требуется выявить наличие трещин или разрывов резины. Если имеются трещины, то это признак того, что скоро с/б потребуется заменить.

Далее проверка производится при помощи монтировки. Уперевшись в рычаг имитируем его работу, при это ход рычага должен быть тугой. Также это касается и подушек крепления двигателя, втулок амортизаторов.

 

На ходу об износе сайлентблоков говорит сильный стук на неровностях, “расхлябанность” подвески.

Когда меняют

Замена сайлентблоков производится только при явном износе, в других случаях их трогать не имеет смысла. Категорически рекомендуется менять резино-металлическую деталь с двух сторон, потому как на ходу подвеска начинает проявлять себя неадекватно из-за разности работы рычагов. 

Кстати, не каждая подвеска начинает “звучать” при износе с/б. Например: автомобиль Mercedes-Benz W210 и BMW 7-series E38 до последнего сохраняют “тишину”, даже когда сайлентблоки полностью порваны. Это говорит о том, что диагностика ходовой части должна осуществлять по пробегу и по первым признакам неадекватного поведения подвески.

Срок эксплуатации

Обычно ресурс оригинальных компонентов достигает 100 000 км и более, в зависимости от того, где эксплуатируется авто. Говоря об аналогах, то самые дешевые варианты могут выйти из строя уже на второй тысяче  километров. Нормальный пробег хорошего аналога составляет 50-80% от ресурса оригинальной запчасти. 

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Какие сайлентблоки лучше: полиуретановые или резиновые?

Однозначно при выходе из строя сайлентблока разумным решением будет замена на идентичный, который предусмотрел производитель. Если водитель незнаком с устройством своего автомобиля, то подбор сайлентблоков можно осуществить  по каталогу для конкретной машины.

Прежде чем производить замену сайлентблоков автовладельцу следует определиться с материалом, из которого изготовлена деталь.

На современном рынке автозапчастей покупателю предлагается два варианта: резиновые и полиуретановые аналоги. Вот в чем их разница.

Резиновые сайлентблоки

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

В основе таких сайлентблоков используется каучук. Эти детали дешевые и их легче найти в магазинах. Но такой вариант имеет несколько существенных недостатков:

  • Небольшой рабочий ресурс;
  • Скрипят, даже после замены;
  • Плохо переносят агрессивное воздействие окружающей среды, например, резина растрескивается при нагрузках на сильном морозе.

Полиуретановые сайлентблоки

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Самый существенный недостаток полиуретановых сайлентблоков по сравнению с предыдущим вариантом – высокая стоимость. Однако этот фактор перекрывается наличием многих преимуществ:

  • Бесшумная работа;
  • Поведение автомобиля на дороге становится мягче;
  • Точка опоры чрезмерно не деформируется;
  • Увеличенный рабочий ресурс (иногда до 5 раз, если сравнивать с резиновым аналогом);
  • Лучше гасит вибрации;
  • Улучшает управляемость автомобиля.

Причины выхода из строя и что ломается в сайлентблоке

В основном на ресурс любой детали автомобиля влияет не только ее качество, но также условия эксплуатации. Бывает так, что качественный сайлентблок не вырабатывает свой ресурс в автомобиле, который постоянно ездит по ухабистой дороге.

Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

В другом случае машина эксплуатируется в большей степени в городе, а водитель аккуратно и размеренно водит. В таких ситуациях даже бюджетный сайлентблок может отходить приличный ресурс.

Основная поломка сайлентблоков – разрыв или деформация резиновой части, потому что она является демпфером точки опоры. В некоторых узлах на нее воздействуют силы скручивания. Поломка металлической обоймы происходит очень редко. Основной причиной этому является нарушение процедуры запрессовки.

Резиновая часть преждевременно изнашивается в таких случаях:

  • Нарушение технологии замены сайлентблоков. Когда затягиваются крепежные болты, автомобиль должен уверенно стоять на колесах, а не быть поддомкраченным. В противном случае неправильно затянутая деталь после того, как машина будет опущена на землю, подвергнется скручиванию. Впоследствии резина под дополнительной нагрузкой порвется.
  • Нарушение процесса запрессовки. Если деталь будет установлена со смещением, в процессе эксплуатации нагрузка не будет распределяться равномерно.
  • Естественный износ. Некоторые водители уделяют внимание сайлентблокам только тогда, когда с ними возникла проблема, часто превышая рекомендованный срок эксплуатации.
  • Агрессивное воздействие химических веществ. К этой причине относятся реагенты, которыми посыпается дорога. Обычное машинное масло тоже с легкостью разрушает резину.
Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Вот по каким признакам можно определить, что сайлентблоки необходимо заменить:

  • Автомобиль проехал почти 100 000 километров (если дорожные условия были плохого качества, то интервал замены уменьшается – приблизительно через 50-60 тысяч);
  • Появился люфт, автомобиль становится неустойчивым и менее комфортным в управлении;
  • Рисунок протектора шин неравномерно изнашивается (при этом нужно учесть, что это может быть следствием других неисправностей, о которых рассказывается в отдельной статье);
  • Крепления рычагов повреждены.

Проводя своевременное и качественное обслуживание автомобиля, владелец машины избежит ненужных растрат на ремонт деталей, которым еще не пришел срок.

ПОХОЖИЕ СТАТЬИ
Главная » Статьи » Что такое сайлентблок и когда его меняют

Добавить комментарий