In Europe, the first crash tests passed according to new standards

The European organization Euro NCAP conducted the first crash tests in accordance with significantly modified rules announced in May this year. The first model to be tested against new safety standards is the compact hatchback Toyota Yaris

Every two years, Euro NCAP crash test rules become more complex. This time, the key change is the introduction of a new head-on collision with a moving obstacle, simulating a head-on collision with an approaching vehicle.

In addition, the organization has made changes to side impact tests, where cars are hit from both sides, rather than just one, to test the effectiveness of all side airbags and assess the damage that passengers can cause if they come into contact with each other. The tests use a new generation high-tech dummy called THOR, which simulates a person of average physical shape.

The safety of adults in Toyota Yaris is estimated at 86%, children - 81%, pedestrians - 78% and electronic systems - 85%. According to the test results, the hatchback receives five stars out of five.

Overall, the car performed well in all types of tests. At the same time, the dummy readings show a high risk of serious injury to the driver's chest in a frontal collision. However, experts noted the package of active safety systems Safety Sense, which includes emergency braking, including in front of pedestrians and cyclists, the function of keeping the car in the served lane, as well as a traffic sign recognition system.

Euro NCAP Crash & Safety Tests of Toyota Yaris 2020
SIMILAR ARTICLES

READ ALSO

Home » News » In Europe, the first crash tests passed according to new standards

Add a comment

В Европе первые краш-тесты прошли по новым стандартам
 

Европейская организация Euro NCAP провела первые краш-тесты в соответствии со значительно измененными правилами, объявленными в мае этого года. Первой моделью, которая будет протестирована на соответствие новым стандартам безопасности, является компактный хэтчбек Toyota Yaris.

Каждые два года правила краш-тестов Euro NCAP усложняются. На этот раз ключевым изменением является введение нового лобового столкновения с движущимся препятствием, имитирующего лобовое столкновение с приближающимся автомобилем.

Кроме того, организация внесла изменения в тесты на боковой удар: автомобили получают удары с обеих сторон, а не с одной, чтобы проверить эффективность всех боковых подушек безопасности и оценить ущерб, который пассажиры могут причинить при контакте друг с другом. В тестах используется высокотехнологичный манекен нового поколения под названием THOR, который имитирует человека средней физической формы.

Безопасность взрослых пассажиров в Toyota Yaris оценивается в 86%, детей — 81%, пешеходов — 78% и электронных систем — 85%. По результатам испытаний хэтчбек получает пять звезд из пяти.

 

В целом автомобиль показал хорошие результаты во всех типах тестов. В то же время показания манекенов показывают высокий риск серьезной травмы груди водителя при лобовом столкновении. Однако специалисты отметили пакет систем активной безопасности Safety Sense, который включает экстренное торможение, в том числе перед пешеходами и велосипедистами, функцию удержания автомобиля в обслуживаемой полосе движения, а также систему распознавания дорожных знаков.

Euro NCAP Crash & Safety Tests of Toyota Yaris 2020
ПОХОЖИЕ СТАТЬИ

ЧИТАЙТЕ ТАКЖЕ

Главная » Новости » В Европе первые краш-тесты прошли по новым стандартам

Добавить комментарий