Shell Eco-marathon 2007: top performance

Shell Eco-marathon 2007: top performance

Teams from Denmark, France, the Netherlands and Norway are among the winners of this year's Shell Eco-marathon. The large number of successful teams reflects the growing importance of the event, which saw a record number of participants - 257 from 20 countries.

“The outstanding performance of the attendees is a real testament to the growing enthusiasm a new generation of engineers is investing in meeting the challenges of energy efficiency and a sustainable future,” said Matthew Bateson, Shell's European Communications Manager.


La Joliverie team from St. Petersburg. Joseph again won the prototype race at the Shell Eco-Marathon after breaking the 3km hurdle. The French team that won the 000 of the Year race won with the gasoline internal combustion engine, maintaining their best performance on the last day of the race. Students from g. Joseph recorded a result of 2006 km per liter of fuel and thus managed to surpass his strongest competitors ESTACA Levallois-Perret, also from France (3039 km per liter), and the team of the Tampere University of Technology, Finland (2701 km per liter).

A team from the Ecole Polytechnique Nantes (France) achieved the best result in the hydrogen cell prototype competition. The French team managed to overcome 2797 km with the equivalent of one liter of fuel and, by a very small margin, overtake their German competitors Hochschule Offenburg from the University of Applied Sciences (2716 km with the equivalent of one liter of fuel) and the team of the Chemnitz University of Technology. km is equivalent to one liter of fuel). Three solar-powered prototypes successfully competed in this year's Shell Eco-Marathon, with the French team from Lycée Louis Pasquet winning the competition.

Category "Urban concepts"

DTU Roadrunners is a two-time winner in the Urban Concepts category at the Shell Eco-marathon. The Danish Technical University team not only won the Internal Combustion Engines class, but also received the Urban Climate Protection Concepts award. He celebrated his victory with participants from De Haagse Hogeschool, who won first place in the hydrogen cell class.

Special prizes

This year's Shell European Eco-Marathon featured technical innovations and improvements in design, safety and communications. The undisputed star of the special awards ceremony was the team at Ostfold Halden University College, Norway, which competes in the Urban Concepts category. The design of the car of the Norwegian team resembles an old racing car and impressed the jury with its practicality and the real possibility of serial production of the model. The team at Ostfold University College Halden tied for the first place in the SKF Design Award with Spanish IES students Alto Nolan Barredos-Asturias and came second behind the Proto 100 IUT GMP team from Toulouse in the most sustainable design award.

The Norwegian team was also honored with the Shell Communications Prize and ranked second in the Autosur Security Award for their safety compliance efforts. The winner in the Safety category of the Shell Eco-Marathon was the team from the French college Roger Claustres, Clermont-Ferrand. The Bosch Innovation Award was awarded to the team at the Polytechnic University of Milan. The Italian team impressed the jury with the design of the car's centrifugal clutch.

The social award went to AFORP Drancy, France, for organizing a variety of recreational educational initiatives, including the inspiring Eco Marathon game for all runners.

“Shell Eco-marathon 2007 has indeed been able to showcase real vehicles designed and presented by student teams to show how to transfer energy, technology and innovation to the future,” added Matthew Bateson.



Home » Test Drive » Shell Eco-marathon 2007: top performance

Add a comment